Day 38 Got encouraged today.

This mornings ride I had the pleasure of my eldest daughters company as she cycled to work which was really nice.  Got her a bike a couple of weeks ago, a really smart hybrid with 3 speed Sturmey Archer gears.  Its incredibly light and looks really good.

Another cold but dry day, forecast for the week does not look too bad.  This Friday, the 13th February,  I have signed up to take part in, International Winter Bike To Work Day  Even though I am on a rest day that day I intend to ride to work and back again, hopefully folk reading this blog will want to take part as well.

I was kind of hoping that as I stared this challenge it would begin to stretch me, and it has.  I feel more and more confident with each ride I do.  I used to be the sort of person that started something and never saw it through to the end!  Much to my wife’s chagrin there were a number of unfinished ‘hobbies’ or ‘projects’ which I started with enthusiasm but after a while soon fizzled out!  I was a bit like that with jobs!  After leaving school I went from one job to another, if I got bored or just had ‘itchy feet’ I would move on to something else.  Thankfully the job I am now in I really enjoy and have been doing for 15 years this year.  But with the cycling I have found that, ‘I can do that’, and it has really boosted my confidence.  It started April last year.  Out of necessity I had to ride to work and also working with a couple of guys who were into cycling helped. It was really decent of them to take a middle aged bloke under their wings and we went on a few rides together and I found that not only could I keep up but I thoroughly enjoyed myself also.  Its so encouraging to think that this is how I feel after a month!  I am really looking forward to what the next eleven months have in store, watch this space.

About Martin's Bicycle Musings.

Husband, Dad, follower of The Way, Keeper of the peace and taking mid-life by the throat
This entry was posted in challenge, cycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

