Day 69 Errandonnee = Fantastique!

As I have mentioned a couple of times when I decided to cycle every day this year I did not over plan the how’s etc.  I wanted things to be spontaneous, I wanted it to be fun and enjoy it rather than it become a chore!  So far it has been as I hoped it would, fun and spontaneous.  I have resigned myself to the fact that I will never be the type of cyclist who can hop on their light weight road bike and pull in 100 km rides without breaking into a sweat!  Unfortunately too many years of living a sedentary lifestyle means that I am on the back foot there, way way on the back foot!

However, I have seen a glimmer of hope.  Last year I started to ride to work on a daily basis and then took in some longer rides in my local area.  A couple of (younger & much fitter) guys at work took pity on me and we went on a few rides together and the distances kept getting longer and I found that I was enjoying it.  Their advice and encouragement was a huge help to keep me motivated and inspired.  As 2014 drew to a close I had one of those moments where I really wanted to set myself a challenge, something different and that’s when I came on the idea of cycling every day of 2015.  As I started on January 1 I found that I was really looking forward to doing it and the sense of determination I had was set high.

Someone asked whether I was doing the challenge to raise money, no, that was not what I had planned.  Then I stumbled upon the Nightrider London charity ride in June and I have now signed up to take part raising money for the Alzheimer’s Society, a challenge within a challenge so to speak.  Towards the end of February I saw a post mentioning the Errandonnee.  My curiosity was peaked and I checked it out at Chasing Mailboxes, I am so pleased that I did.  Briefly, complete 12 errands between March 5th & March 16th.  The categories are set and include things like, ‘you carried what on your bike’, ‘Personal care’, and ‘Arts and entertainment’. It has given me so much added enjoyment to my rides, I am really grateful to Chasing Mailboxes for organising it and long may it continue.

About Martin's Bicycle Musings.

Husband, Dad, follower of The Way, Keeper of the peace and taking mid-life by the throat
This entry was posted in blog, blogging, challenge, cycling, Errandonnee, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

