Day 80 Cycling around in 80 days.

Time to catch up with some blogging, been AWOL for a few days with one thing and another.  Today is my 80th day of cycling!  Still going strong.

Last night we attended our kids high school for the annual school Extravaganza. This is an opportunity for all the kids from all the grades to take part in a showcase of song and dance.  They had so many to choose from that in the end we had performances from 32 acts!  My eldest daughter was in one of those.

As I sat there and watched each act take the stage in turn I found that I was becoming overwhelmed with the infectious energy and passion that these kids had.  They all put in heart and soul, 100% effort to what they were doing and the sense of achievement they had, its almost like they do anything that they put their mind to, anything.

I started to wonder if this was something that was just reserved for our youth?  I got to thinking, ‘well, why should it?’  I then realised what it was that they all shared, whether they knew it or not, confidence, by the bucketful.  Much to my shame I found myself thinking that, ‘I’m too old to do that, or start that, or give that a go!’  But am I too old?  I mean is 47 over the hill?  Well, I hate to disappoint you but I do not have the answers, however I think that I am shaking it up a bit.  My decision to cycle every day this year has taken me out of the norm, out of my comfort zone.  I am lifting my eyes up further across the horizon and seeing where it will take me.

About Martin's Bicycle Musings.

Husband, Dad, follower of The Way, Keeper of the peace and taking mid-life by the throat
This entry was posted in blog, blogging, challenge, cycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

