More cycling, 93 days now!

After 93 days of of cycling I have realised something, cycling 365 days is not unique!  I have learnt that lots of people do it, through all the seasons.

So what makes my venture special?  The answer is nothing really, except that it is special to me.  After 15 years of an incredibly sedentary lifestyle I decided that it was time to start to claw back those years and do something about it, hence the cycle challenge I have set myself.  The change that I feel already make the last 93 days absolutely worth every mile. I feel fitter than I have done for a long time, when I wake up in the morning I don’t feel like my body has seized up.  I have found that I am already starting to plan in my head what challenge/s to set myself next year, endless possibilities!

The biggest difference it has made in my life though is the huge sense of achievement I feel every time I go out on my bike now and not having the feeling of dread of worrying whether I am going to make it there and back again!

April see the start of 30 Days of Biking which involves taking a pledge to cycle every day of the months.  For every 30 pledges they get they donate one bike to the charity Free bike 4 Kidz.  A couple of guys at work are taking part as well and we are looking to go on some rides together which will be ace.

cycle dude

Dan joined me for today’s ride.

Heard from Mary to give me the good news that I successfully completed Errandonnee, another feather in my cycling cap.  My training for the London Nightrider is going really well.  I have started making us of the gym at work, especially on night shifts, and doing plenty of cardio exercise.  Again please to report that I am feeling the benefits and have surprised myself with how much I can now do.

About Martin's Bicycle Musings.

Husband, Dad, follower of The Way, Keeper of the peace and taking mid-life by the throat
This entry was posted in blog, blogging, challenge, cycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More cycling, 93 days now!

  1. bribikes says:

    It is so awesome to read about your progress, you are killing it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

