Day 103 It’s the little things.

There is a saying, ‘It’s the little thing’s in life that matter’.  I think that there is an element of truth in that saying.  My experience has been that sometimes the little, seemingly insignificant things which happen or are done which make the biggest impact.

There is another saying, ‘don’t sweat the small stuff’.  That’s something that I regularly fall foul of!  In my life I have found that it’s usually really little issues which can cause the biggest ripples.  Here is a recent example which made me smile.

I recently purchased a new bike, which I have mentioned on this blog before, and I am extremely pleased with.  After going for a great ride out with Bike Guru and friend Ben we went back to his place whereby he made some minor adjustment to the gears for which I was very grateful.  A day later my bike started to make a really annoying clicking sound which was coming from the front gears and only when it is engaged in the middle gear!  I put up with it for a couple days and then on Saturday I gave my bike a good clean whereby I seized the opportunity to try to figure out what the clicking noise was.  I did some research on the internets and watched a couple of useful clips on Youtube, I was starting to think there was something wrong with he front derailleur which needed some adjusting.  Got the necessary tools and rolled up my sleeves and went for it.  The first thing I was looking for was at which point was the chain was rubbing against the derailleur.  Turn after turn and hearing the clicking sound I could not see where the chain was rubbing, it seemed to be set correctly and there was no obvious point where it was happening.  I had no other option other than to start taking it apart, which I was very reluctant to do, visions of me ringing Bike Guru Ben and asking for help in a really whiney voice did not fill me with joy!  I got down on my hands and knees and started to have a good look, a really close good look.  I got my face into the gears and was slowly started to turn the pedals when there it was.  On the inside of the front derailleur there was a manufacturers sticker which had started to peel off an was making the ‘flicking’ sound against the middle cog when the chain was in a certain gear!  As I said, it made me smile.

I would not have seen it until I got my face right in, up close and personal.  I find that there are times when I overlook the little things because I don’t look properly and miss it.  Its all about learning to be looking better!

About Martin's Bicycle Musings.

Husband, Dad, follower of The Way, Keeper of the peace and taking mid-life by the throat
This entry was posted in blog, blogging, challenge, cycling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

