Day 119 The bitter chew of a reality sandwich!

Day started out the same as any other day.  Only our youngest daughter to take to school as oldest stayed at a friends and our son is recovering from a 24hr stomach bug.

Went out to get in the car and immediately noticed something was not right!  We keep three of our bikes under the porch and locked up to the pole which props the porch up.  Someone had cut trough the lock and stole my bike, oh and they took the lock with them as well .  It took a moment for the whole scene to sink in and then with a sudden thud reality kicked in, someone has stolen my bike!  I have only had it about a month and its the best bike I have ever ridden.  My daughter needed to get to school so we jumped in the car and I drove her there still in a state of shock.  I guess it was a bit risky leaving them out front I thought, but they were well locked up and they were covered over with a motorcycle cover!

I dropped Alice off and then on my way back home a cruised through a couple of housing estates where there is a chance to ‘find things’!  Nothing!  Anne called me, worried aboutme and so I went back home, time to call the police.  Report made and waiting for a call back for them to take all my details for the crime report etc!

As if having my bike taken was not bad enough we checked our insurance documents and the next chew of the sandwich, we had not checked the appropriate box to cover bicycles!  Ground please open and swallow me!  I then took a trip on the emotional rollercoaster, grief, anger, frustration and then shame.  I went out for a walk to see if I could find any clues or see if my lock had been dumped nearby! Fruitless efforts, I went back home.  I was so angry, mostly with myself but also angry with the individual who came onto my property and stole my bike, MY NEW BIKE!  I then got to thinking that its not fair.  Its not fair because I live and work by the rules, pay my taxes, work hard, pay my bills on time, try to encourage my kids to do the same, struggle on month by month.  How on earth can we afford to buy another bike?  I am then overwhelmed by a feeling of calm and am reminded that I am not worried senseless about a loved one who was in Nepal.  That we are all safe and well, no one got hurt!  I could have been so much worse, we have never had to come to terms with the violation that come from a burglary or a violent crime.

So, as I come to terms with this I can report that I have been out for todays ride on my daughters hybrid, which if I am going to use a bit more will need some adjusting!  There is plenty of time before I go to London for Nightrider to sort out what I am going to be riding on!  To the person who took my bike.  I understand that you probably took it to sell it to buy drugs to fuel your drug addled addiction, you have some pity from me that this is what your life largely consists of. That you are able to lead a conscious free life bewilders me!  Anyway, I am so grateful to a loving family and supportive friends who are helping me more than they probably know.

About Martin's Bicycle Musings.

Husband, Dad, follower of The Way, Keeper of the peace and taking mid-life by the throat
This entry was posted in blog, blogging, challenge, cycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 119 The bitter chew of a reality sandwich!

  1. Dan In Iowa says:

    Ouch, that sucks. I really appreciate reading of your great attitude though. That’s an encouragement to me despite your loss.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bribikes says:

    Man, I am so sorry! Finger’s crossed that somehow you can get your bike back.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

