Day 131 Over the moon.

In my last blog I posted that I had fallen victim to a thief who coveted my new bike!  Well, amazingly my sadness was soon to be replaced by such joy and love that it was quite overwhelming.

After discovering the theft we checked our insurance policy only to discover that the box which covers bikes had not been ticked!  Blow number two!  Also, and I am being honest here folks, when I bought the bike we could not afford to buy it outright so I was buying it on a finance package and had made just one payment because I only had it for a month!  Blow number three!  My despair was total, I had no idea what to do and we were starting to come to terms with having to make some hefty payments which we could not really afford!

However, before the day was over, and I mean a text message at 11:30pm, I was told that the money had been paid into my bank account to go and by a new bike!  Without going into a lot of fine detail my amazing family and friends had got together and given me enough money to not only replace the bike but also the bits that were on it, panniers, light brackets, tools that were in the panniers etc.

Yesterday I picked up that bike which I bought from a local bike shop, great lads at F&J Cycles I fitted all the bits back on and took it out for a quick 13 mile lap, awesome!  Rode with a huge grin on my face the whole time and it was nice to have Rebekah, our eldest, come along.

Each time I go out on my bike now I will have it as a constant reminder of the love that goes with it and for me it makes it even more special.  I was also reminded of some wise words yesterday as I was on the bike, ‘Where your treasure is there also is your heart’.  Yes I really like my bike and love being out on it but its not the same sort of love that I have for family and friends.  Its hard to explain and one day I will try to put it into words. Some of you who read the quote will understand what I mean.

About Martin's Bicycle Musings.

Husband, Dad, follower of The Way, Keeper of the peace and taking mid-life by the throat
This entry was posted in blog, blogging, challenge, cycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 131 Over the moon.

  1. Dan In Iowa says:

    I think this is the coolest thing I’ve read in a LONG time!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

