Woah…we’re half way there.

Day – 6 months.

Yes indeed, that folks is half way through the year!

I have been AWOL as far as my blogging goes and I mean to try and improve on that during the next 6 months.  The cycling has been going really well, although most of my rides recently have been shortish, I am still commuting on both day and night shifts and enjoying the lights mornings and evenings.

What better way to mark the half way point that to go out on one of my favourite routes, the Water Rail Trail to the village of Bardney.  What an awesome day for it too. Glorious sunshine with a slight breeze so that there’s no risk of overheating!  At one point my bike computer was telling me that the temperature was 79 F or 26 C for my metric friends!  Quite a few people out cycling on the trail, who can blame them?  Cycling by the river was perfect on a day like today with the sun shine rippling across the surface and swans enjoying the cool shade near the river banks.  I even had a go at the, ‘video selfie of me riding my bike!’

Hmm, I don’t think Mr Spielberg has anything to worry about!

I’ve said it before and I don’t mind repeating myself, it is a tough challenge to beat the splendour of the English countryside.

country

Last night I cycled out and completed the Barons Trail which is an exhibition to mark 800 years since the Magna Carta was signed.  Lincoln is significant in this as Lincoln Castle holds one of only 4 original copies of the charter.  We have had some amazing celebrations in the city to mark the occasion an the Barons Trail is an inspired piece of work.

bike-baron    baron

There are 25 of these decorated Barons placed around the city, each has been sponsored and decorated by different organisations and they are brilliant.  There is even a steam punk Baron!  How cool is that?

In the first six months, as well as my main challenge of cycling every day, I have also taken part in the Errandonnee, Nightrider London and discovered what wonderful countryside is right on my door step.  I am looking forward to the next six months, during which I am going to take a mountain bike with me on our family holiday to North Wales, cant wait.  I look forward to what other surprises the rest of the year has in store.

 

 

About Martin's Bicycle Musings.

Husband, Dad, follower of The Way, Keeper of the peace and taking mid-life by the throat
This entry was posted in blog, blogging, challenge, cycling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Woah…we’re half way there.

  1. bribikes says:

    Yay! Good to hear you are still going strong!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brian says:

    Well done! And keep up the blogging!

    Like

Leave a Reply

