The path less travelled.

After about six weeks of recovery I decided that today would be a good day to stretch the leg!  A perfect morning of blue sky and sunshine was invite enough!

Initially I was going to do one of my favourite rides out to Fledborough. I got as far as the junction to go on the track to Fledborough and there and noticed a sign pointing to the Village of Saxilby, why not?  Lets go!

sax roadJust to the right of my bike and just out of the shot is the Fossdyke Navigation, one of the oldest canals in Great Britain.  Historians have discovered the Romans used it and it was also used to bring in the stone used to build Lincoln Cathedral.

I got to the end of the track and crossed a busy main road, the other side was a public bridleway which went in the general direction of Saxilby.  I ended up in a field where they were growing turf and was treated to a show by some of the Red Arrows, brilliant.

arrowsThe track got rougher and muddier but being in the middle of it all and far from roads and houses made it so serene and relaxing that I just stopped and did nothing but enjoy it for a while.  I must say at this point that I am SO please with my bike.  The Raleigh Pioneer was excellent both off road and also for road riding, this just added to the enjoyment.

cath silLincoln Cathedral silhouetted on the horizon.

The track brought me out into the village of South Carlton, this meant a very short but very steep hill up on to the main road.  I would love to say I made it all the way up but about three quarters of the way my calf muscle started to twinge so I walked the last quarter.  At the top was an old tatty bus shelter, so I popped in for a drink and a rest before the ride home.

bike sheltGot back home feeling great.  A nice 15 mile ride and most of it I’ve never ridden before but would sure do it again.  I realise that I am a bit out of shape having been laid up for a while but at the same time I am well pleased with how I got on.  I aim to get a lot more rides in this year and am looking forward to taking part in the Coffeeneuring Challenge next month.  Next year if all goes to plan we are hoping to vacation in New York City and Washington DC and I plan to do some riding in both. Next year I’m also going to build up the mileage and also get some hills in!

 

About Martin's Bicycle Musings.

Husband, Dad, follower of The Way, Keeper of the peace and taking mid-life by the throat
This entry was posted in bikes, blog, blogging, challenge, cycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The path less travelled.

  1. bribikes says:

    I have been thinking of you, I am so excited you are back in the saddle again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

