My Year On Two Wheels.

 

Lets go.

In some ways it feels like this year has flown by, but in other ways it feels like only yesterday when I started this cycling challenge!

This was taken on January 1st 2015, my first ride.

It was a whole new thing, cycling every day and blogging about my experiences!  Full of determination and enthusiasm I was very excited about the year and as a novice blogger, (I’ve never been much good at keeping a diary), I set off.

But where do I ride?

When I decided to take this challenge on I was adamant that I wasn’t going to over plan it.  I didn’t want to restrict myself by having to do; so many miles, for a certain amount of time, etc.  I wanted it to be more spontaneous and ‘off the cuff’. I am so glad I made that decision because it aloud for the unexpected, in many ways.  One of those thing was when planning for the family vacation I realised that I wouldn’t be able to get any cycling in.  Not long after getting home tore my Achilles tendon and was unable to ride for quite a while.  I had managed to cycle every day for over six months of the year, pretty good going.

When I started some of my rides would just be around the block or to work and back but as the weeks and months went on I found my miles increasing and I started to discover some wonderful parts of the countryside.

Some of my favourites.

 

 

 Inspiration.

It has been wonderful to become part of the cycling/blogger community and to make contact with many people who have a love of cycling.  I have been encouraged and inspired by people from around the world.  Chasing Mailboxes has introduced me to the wonderful Errandonnee and the world of Coffeenuering, both excellent fun and an added challenge within the challenge.  Someone who owns winter biking is Bri and she loves the challenge of riding in snow, amazing!  I enjoying reading the posts of Dan in Iowa whose wisdom and experience is priceless.  These are just a few, there are many more.  In June I took part in the London Nightrider charity cycle event.  This was  60km ride through the streets of London, at night and it was brilliant.  All being well I am going to take part again in 2016 but this time I will do the 100km route.

What’s next?

Now that I have been, ‘bitten by the cycling bug’, and I have a new hobby which is also a sport (!) I am looking forward to challenging myself in 2016 which will include going further and exploring new places.

Miles ridden 2015 apprx 1200 (its possibly closer to 1300 but I’ve lost track somewhere! Doh!)

About Martin's Bicycle Musings.

Husband, Dad, follower of The Way, Keeper of the peace and taking mid-life by the throat
This entry was posted in bikes, blog, blogging, challenge, coffeeneur, coffeeneuring, cycling, Errandonnee, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Year On Two Wheels.

  1. bribikes says:

    It has been wonderful to follow you as you bike through the year, despite the obstacles you have faced, I can’t wait to see what you will accomplish in the new year!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

