More of a smile and less of a grimace!

Strangle title!

Yes, an odd choice of title for my last post of the year!  A brief explanation, Christmas Eve a twinge in my shoulder developed into serious pain by Christmas Day which I have been nursing ever since.  It’s like something has been shoved into my shoulder blade and is very painful.  Thankfully it has stated to get slightly better now.

Are you sure that’s the best idea?

I was determined to get out on my bike today and when I mentioned this to Anne she asked the question that wives often ask, ‘Is that the best idea?‘  My reply was simply, ‘no’, however it was something I had to do I needed to get one more ride in before the year finishes.

TBT (throw back Thursday)

January 1st I started a challenge this year to cycle every day.  Ambitious, yes.  Did I complete it, no!

IMG_0717

This picture was taken on the 1st of January next to Lincoln Cathedral, my first ride and my old bike.

There is a saying, ‘If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time’.  I had been inspired last year by a couple of friends and decided to set a challenge of my own and this was to ride every day and also to blog about it.  After many years of living a very sedentary life it was time to mix it up, get some exercise, get healthy and do something different.  I am so pleased I started this challenge even though it didn’t end the way I thought it would, but that’s ok as I have loved the spontaneity.  I have  learnt anything its that the only obstacle for doing something is often me!

Looking back.

The year started out great and as time went on I was increasing my mileage and routes.  I managed to ride in all weathers,  at all times and even with raging toothache!.  Things became a bit unstuck when I had to stop for our family summer vacation and then shortly after I damaged my Achilles tendon in my calf and was not able to walk let alone do anything else!  Up to that point I had cycled every day for just over six months.  There were also challenges within the challenge, including the London Nightrider, Errandonnee and Coffeeneuring.  Loads of fun and helped me enjoy cycling even more.  I have really enjoyed blogging and surprised myself with how much I got into it!  My life has been enriched by all the people I have met and made contact with.  They have helped inspire and encourage me with their own words of wisdom and experiences on two wheels.  I have 65 followers, wowzers!  thank you all.

2016

The good news is I did manage a ride today and went back to where it all began.

newyear

Lincoln Cathedral on my new bike.

Even though my shoulder is still giving me the odd twinge it was really nice to get out into the fresh air.  So what does 2016 have in store?  In many ways its a pretty big year for us as a family.  In the summer we are going to visit New York and Washington DC, I am hoping to do some cycling in both cities.  Our eldest daughter will finish her A levels and then in October she will be going to University!  Oh, that’s after she has been to Sri Lanka to work with Turtle conservationists and also children’s orphanages (quite the combo!)  As far a cycling goes I am hoping to take part in the London Nightrider again, build up my miles and get to do my first century ride.  Oh, and anything else that may come up!

It just leaves me to wish all my followers and readers a very Happy New Year, and good cycling.

 

 

 

 

About Martin's Bicycle Musings.

Husband, Dad, follower of The Way, Keeper of the peace and taking mid-life by the throat
This entry was posted in bikes, blog, blogging, challenge, coffeeneur, coffeeneuring, cycling, Errandonnee, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

