Plan B.

Todays plans have turned out quite differently to what I had in mind.  Today I was hoping for a nice long ride in the glorious sunshine set in a deep blue sky.  Unfortunately, Anne, my wife, has picked up a horrible stomach virus thing and started being sick last night.  She had a terrible night and today feels like she has had the stuffing beaten out of her, get well soon babe.

I did a few errands and ferried my youngest daughter about and then got her to college.  I then had a flash of inspiration!  If I couldn’t get our for a ride on my bike then maybe this was the best time to have a go at some essential cycle maintenance.  I was recently impressed and inspired by Bri and the  work she carried out on her bike.  So with that in mind I remembered that I had some store vouchers which had been given to me at work for long service, I used them to buy an excellent bike tool kit which is in a very hand case.

So I rolled up my sleeves, found some really useful ‘how to videos’ on YouTube and got to work.  As well as some general maintenance I had a loose rear hub and set to work tightening that up.  Success!  I have been meaning to replace my break blocks for a while and set to work on those, another result.  There’s no stopping me now!

Because I use my main bike to commute I have decided to strip down an old mountain bike that’s been in the shed for a while.  I will use that to learn how to remove the cassette, changed break and gear cables etc.  Then this knowledge and experience will help me on my main bike.

Its all good stuff.

About Martin's Bicycle Musings.

Husband, Dad, follower of The Way, Keeper of the peace and taking mid-life by the throat
This entry was posted in bicycle, bikes, blog, blogging, challenge, cycling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Plan B.

  1. bribikes says:

    Well done, Martin! It is amazing how many helpful video’s there are on youtube. How did anyone do bike repair before the days of the internet? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

